The Hungry Beast

 

Blog #2 October 25, 2016

Welcome back to Fright week scary Halloween stories…

Copyright © 2013 by K. Lorraine Books

This story is fiction, but it is based on the day I watched two fish and wildlife officers catch a live gator in my Florida home yard.

 

 

hungrygatorI noticed countless fish leaping out of the water. They were trying to escape the alligator’s powerful jaws. I observed a lasso pitched into the troubled lake water.

Beads of perspiration soaked the men’s shirts. It seemed the trappers had the upper hand.  The gator was the neighborhood mascot alligator. But it was about to befall the baiter’s snare.

The gator twisted and turned to free itself from the trapper’s noose. I watched the sideshow from inside my Florida room.

I snickered when the cold blooded creature botched its seizure. It was a happy sight when it returned to gorging on the lake fish. What harm was the beast, causing? Our lake was a no swimming allowed lake. So, there wasn’t any concern for the loss of human life.

The gator got its fill on fish and never ventured onto land. Small dogs and cats didn’t tempt the beast of the wild either. It was content to come and go through a waterway that led to the Gulf of Mexico.

I thought about it. I was pleased to think, that there would be no delicious gator tail tonight on the restaurant’s menu.

This was a snarky kind of a scary fish tale, but I hope you enjoyed it anyway…

Happy Halloween,

K. Lorraine

Author: punken1947@livecom

I've been writing under the pen name, K. Lorraine since 2011. My favorite kinds of books to write are Romance/murder, however, I also dabble in Science Fiction, Adventure, Poetry, humor/satire and children's stories. My interest in writing started in middle school. Throughout my grade school years, I won several writing contests. I gained experience as a grant writer when I was the director for a non-profit. Once upon a time, I held the position of Public Relations Officer for a different non-profit. I first published in 2011 when I wrote the short story Next Generation: Love in Silence. The story was based on Romeo & Juliette, but with an alien twist. The book was unveiled at the 2011 Roswell, NM. Alien Festival. I’ve recently discovered a love for blogging. I blog daily on various topics. My blogs can be read on my website http://klorraine.com. I can also be followed on Facebook and Twitter. I live in Roswell, NM with my husband Ed, of twenty-five years. Collectively, we have five children and six grandchildren.

Leave a comment